Friday, July 7, 2017

The Elements

The five elements have been a prominent factor in cultures both in ancient civilizations and even now in modern day times. Before I really dove into Paganism, I only knew about the four more well-known elements; Earth, Fire, Water, and Air. However as many know upon doing more research, or even knew prior, that there is also a fifth element: The spirit.

What do the elements represent?


Earth represents grounding, nature, growth, money, health, property, femininity, business and foundation. It is the basis of all other elements.Those who are more attuned to the element of earth tend to be easy going people and generally more grounded.
  • Zodiac Signs attuned to Earth: Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn
  • Gods and Goddesses: Gaia, Pan, Demeter, and The Horned God. 
  • Direction: North
  • Season: Winter
  • Colors: Green and Brown


Water is everything to do with emotions, fittingly enough. Love, sorrow, personal connections, even intuition all are in water's domain. Those who are more attuned to water have a more of a sensitivity to people's needs, they're creative, healers, and social butterflies. Some even have a power of sight into the world of the unseen.

  • Zodiac Signs attuned to Water: Pisces, Cancer, Scorpio
  • Gods and Goddesses: Epona, Neptune (Poseidon), Aphrodite
  • Direction: West
  • Season: Autumn
  • Colors: Blue


The element of fire is known for many things. Passion, desire, creation, purification, and even destruction. Those who are more attuned with fire have a drive within them, a passion for creating and living life to the fullest. Their instincts are their greatest advantage and they make full use of it.
  • Zodiac Signs attuned to Fire: Aries, Leo, Saggitarius
  • Gods and Goddesses: Bridget (Brigid), Lugh, Re, Hephestus, Apollo
  • Direction: South
  • Season: Summer
  • Colors: Red, Gold, Orange, Yellow


Air is the element of thought and intuition. Those who are more attuned to air are planners and strategists, always ensuring that their choices are their best course of action before committing to them. They give great advice, but sometimes have a hard time following their own.

  • Zodiac Signs attuned to Air: Gemini, Aquarius, Libra\
  • Gods and Goddesses: Shu, Thoth, Hermes (Mercury), Athena
  • Direction: East
  • Season: Spring
  • Colors: Light green, Light blue, pink, purple


The Spirit is everything that binds the elements together. It is the essence found within all living things, it defines yet is malleable, and in the end (Depending on your belief system) it is what is left behind once the body dies. When you walk your path, your Spirit grows from the lessons you learn and in that growth gives you a better understanding of how the elements tie together.

  • Zodiac Signs attuned to Spirit: All
  • Gods and Goddesses: None
  • Direction: None
  • Season: None
  • Colors: Dark blues, black, deep purple, white

It is my sincerest hope that the information provided has helped in the progression of your path or even as general information all together. It's been an adventure collecting information to provide an easier understanding of the different elements. I hope your weeks go by comfortably in all this hot weather! Bright Blessings!

No comments:

Post a Comment